Call for nominations for the 2021 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

25 May 2021

This year the prize will recognize projects reflecting the theme ‘inclusive distance and digital literacy learning’.

The theme seeks to highlight the innovative practices that literacy promoters have developed as a way to ensure the continuity of literacy learning during the COVID-19 crisis.

The prizes will recognize projects or programmes conducted by governments, NGOs or individuals in the field of literacy learning. UNESCO will recognize six laureates in total, with laureates each awarded from one of two distinct prizes:
• the UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize, supported by the Government of the Republic of Korea and giving special consideration to programmes that promote mother language-based literacy development (three laureates receive US$20,000);
• the UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy, supported by the Government of the People’s Republic of China and supporting programmes promoting literacy through technology in support of adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth (three laureates receive US$30,000).

The winners will be selected by the Director General of UNESCO from a shortlist of outstanding candidates prepared by an independent international jury. To be considered eligible for nomination, projects must meet the following criteria:
• candidates must be institutions, organizations or individuals promoting literacy through effective and innovative projects or programmes
• they must have a proven record of innovative work in the field of literacy for at least three years
• they must not have been awarded in the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes in the past five years

Candidates may submit an application for nomination through either a National Commission for UNESCO or an International Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) maintaining official relations with UNESCO. Applications will then be reviewed, and national commissions and NGOs may nominate candidates to the Secretariat of the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.

Applications must be submitted in English or French by midnight (Paris time) on 13 June 2021.

Nominations from National Commissions and NGOs must be submitted by midnight (Paris time) on 27 June 2021.

Further information on the Prizes is available on the Prizes website, and the application and nomination process is explained in the application guide.
UNESCO Literacy Prizes
call for applications
inclusive distance learning
digital literacy learning

Permanent link: